Worst Moms on MTV’s “16 and Pregnant”

5 06 2012

Another cycle of 16 & Pregnant wrapped up last week, and 12 new (more) girls are now well in to their first year of motherhood.

Since premiering in June of 2009, MTV has aired 47 episodes.  Initially, the New York Times reviewed the program, concieved (pun intended) by Lauren Dolgen, as “a documentary-style series about real-life Junos who are not scoring in the 99th percentile on the verbal portion of their SATs. Each week revolves around a different girl struggling with the challenges of teenage pregnancy, and if the first three episodes are any indication, no one opts for abortion or giving the baby up to a pair of well-established 35-year olds.”

The show recieved mixed reactions from audiences, with many religious and educational groups deeming it a vehicle for glamorizing teen pregnancy, though it steadily pulled in good ratings. The first season’s finale yielded 2.1 million viewers.

Season 1 featured six mothers-to-be; season 2 “A” followed 10,  season 2 “B” nine; season 3 covering 10 stories; and season 4 showcased 12 girls.

The obvious winners of the losers are Amber Portwood (Season 1; recently sentenced to a 5-year jail sentence stemming from December 2011 drug charges) and Jenelle Evans (Season 2; recently engaged, her half dozen arrests have played out in all the glossy tabloids) but being that I’ve seen every episode more than once (or twice, sometimes three times — I’m not pathetic, I’m dedicated and often too lazy look for my remote):  I know there are other young ladies worthy of our unsolicited judgement and disapproving head-shaking.

Ebony Jackson, Season 1.
Ebony seemed to have her act together, altering her life-plan of joining the Air Force and marrying her boyfriend Joshua Rendon. The two lived quietly on base in Little Rock, AK and seemed to be adjusting nicely to married life and parenthood on the first of MTV’s Where Are They Now specials.
In September however, news broke via various online outlets that the pair had been arrested for welfare fraud and endangering their two-year-old daughter, Jocelyn.  Josh and Ebony were reportedly charged with “endangering the welfare of a minor, possession of drug paraphernalia, maintaining a drug premise, unauthorized use of another’s property to facilitate a crime, and possession of a controlled substance.”
Just six weeks ago, Josh spoke out through TMZ — announcing the couple is expecting a second child and still working to regain custody of Jocelyn.

Lizzie Waller, Season 2.
I was pleased with the revelation in Waller’s episode that her boyfriend Skylar had cheated on her, thereby shattering her delusions of having “the perfect baby, the perfect family, the perfect life.”  Gag.
This girl acted like ‘Who wouldn’t want to have a baby instead of finishing high school?’ and proceeded to frighten her parents (and the viewing audience) with her choices to marry Skylar and raise her daughter Summer with NO money.

Emily McKenzie, Season 2.
Besides the fact that Emily has openly admitted, on camera, that she resents Daniel, her now-husband, and wishes for a life that doesn’t consist of diapers and laundry – – she took little responsibility for her own role in the conception of baby Liam.  Emily came off cold, frustrated and selfish throughout the episode (and subsequent appearance on the second Where Are They Now? special).
I felt bad for her initially, having been thrown out of her mom’s house upon revealing her condition and harshly judged by her strict, conservative, Southern father.  She had to enroll in homeschooling because her high school kicked her out for excessive absences. But her self-recorded “confessional” footage really tipped the scales from “Someone I’ll root for” to “Someone I don’t pity.”

Aubrey Wolters, Season 2.
This lazy-eyed, smack-talking, now 19-yar-old divorcee spouted grand aspirations for breaking the cycle and raising a healthy child with her boyfriend Brandon turned out to be little more than one of those girls you went to high school with who told anyone who would listen “I hate drama,” “If I have something to say to someone I say it to their face,” “I’m gonna do what I have to for my baby.”  UGH.
When we last saw her, Aubrey had delayed college in favor of working part-time and living with friends. Brandon had joint-custody of their son Austin and definitely seemed the more stable in their (broken) relationship.

Ashley Salazar, Season 2.
Anyone who heard her story had to feel for Ashley, who spent the majority of her 90-minute episode trying to decide whether to surrender her infant daughter for adoption.  Complicating her already tough decision was the fact that the couple wanting desperately to adopt little Callie were Ashley’s own aunt and uncle.
This proposal would afford Ashley the openness and access to her child she wanted, but it would also prove too difficult a life-choice to cope with/move past with the child so prominently featured within the family. Ashley was suffering, which her family was understanding of; while her relatives were celebrating the joy of finally having a child, which the very same family was to be supportive of.
While it was openly discussed in her episode, Ashley showed little acknowledgement that her consistent blogging about her pregnancy and deliberation was accessible to her family and extraordinarily difficult for them to handle the feelings she wrote about.
Ashley, now 19, has since written a book, Bittersweet Blessing, about her experience (though reportedly it features little more info that what was shown on her episode).  She briefly attended The New School in New York City, but returned to Texas in favor of living by herself and pursuing online education.

Jennifer Del Rio, Season 3.
I hated this girl before her episode even aired. There were rumors online that one of the girls featured in Season 3 got pregnant specifically so she could be on 16 & Pregnant. Turned out, that girl was Jennifer.
Jennifer and her boyfriend Josh Smith have since broken up in a big way. Their families had no interaction on the episode, though a central theme in their story was how much Josh clashed with her wealthy, self-important parents.  Everyone had two-cents to put in on the situation, leaving Jennifer and Josh unable to come to any compromise over the rearing of their twin sons. The two were shown to have a physical altercation on the side of a rainy Florida roadway, which lead to Josh’s arrest for domestic violence. They have each since filed orders of restraint against eachother.
It was revealed on the second installement of Where Are They Now? that Jennifer basically picked up her kids and moved to Chicago, IL in an effort to escape the hostility surrounding her life.

Izabella Tovar, Season 3.
Izabella, like Emily (Season 2), was shown to have a flat affect when discussing her impending motherhood and relationship with the father of her child, boyfriend Jairo Rodriguez.
She doesn’t seem to even like Jairo for most of the footage, and resents the very act of being pregnant, hiding it from everyone but her immediate family for over 7 months.
Izabella seems to merely be following the advice of her parents, who come to terms with her situation long before she does, instead of carving out her own life as a mother. Poor Jairo lept through hoops to stay in her life during the pregnancy, meeting her parents demands for being part of their family, only to be hazily dragged along by Izabella.
She should consider herself lucky to have financially-stable parents and a present, interested partner by her side. MANY of the other girls featured on 16 and Pregnant would kill for that kind of support system.

There was no one outrightly unlikable in Season 4, though several are in for a rude awakening. Alex Sekella, Jordan Howard, Sarah Roberts and Devon Broyles all seem totally unprepared for caring for another human being and completely unwilling to give up their prior lives/fickle natures in order to succeed in motherhood; Consistently shown under the influence of outside opinions instead of stand up for themselves as adults now, and doing whats actually best for their infant children.

I sat here, week after week, listening to their same back and forth arguments about money and time, wondering throughout whether any of them had cable and SAW the other girls struggles. Wasn’t that the point of the show? To teach girls from 12-24 that having sex and following through with a pregnancy was fucking hard?!

We’ll see Dr. Drew’s take on this group of ladies tonight, when the Season 4 Reunion special airs at 10pm.

Actions

Information

26 responses

10 06 2012
Argelia Aspden

Hello.This article was really interesting, particularly because I was browsing for thoughts on this matter last Thursday.

10 06 2012
Quick Banana Nut Muffins Recipes

I loved as much as you’ll receive carried out right here. The sketch is attractive, your authored subject matter stylish. nonetheless, you command get bought an impatience over that you wish be delivering the following. unwell unquestionably come more formerly again as exactly the same nearly very often inside case you shield this hike.

10 06 2012
Best Banana Nut Muffins Recipes

I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was good. I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already 😉 Cheers!

10 06 2012
Best Banana Nut Muffins Recipes

I think this is among the most important information for me. And i am glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general things, The site style is wonderful, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

11 06 2012
Lidia Saice

Hello. remarkable job. I did not imagine this. This is a excellent story. Thanks!

11 06 2012
Bernardina Media

Hey there, You’ve done a great job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

11 06 2012
Banana Nut Muffin

You made some clear points there. I did a search on the issue and found most guys will agree with your site.

11 06 2012
Recipe for Banana Nut Muffins

Of course, what a splendid website and enlightening posts, I definitely will bookmark your blog.Best Regards!

11 06 2012
Ernesto Cromley

Lovely website! I am loving it!! Will come back again. I am bookmarking your feeds also

11 06 2012
Nickolas Destime

Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your website and in accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

11 06 2012
Recipe for Banana Nut Muffins

I have been examinating out a few of your articles and i must say pretty nice stuff. I will make sure to bookmark your blog.

11 06 2012
Banana Nut Muffin

I like the valuable information you provide in your articles. I will bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite certain I’ll learn many new stuff right here! Good luck for the next!

12 06 2012
Banana Nut Muffins Recipe

I’m still learning from you, while I’m making my way to the top as well. I definitely liked reading all that is written on your site.Keep the stories coming. I loved it!

12 06 2012
Banana Nut Muffin

Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website thus i came to “return the favor”.I’m trying to find things to enhance my web site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

12 06 2012
American Airways Letter Scam

Hello there, You’ve done a fantastic job. I will certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this site.

13 04 2014
Nadia

I don’t even know the way I finished up here, however I thought this put up was great.
I do not understand who you might be but certainly you’re going
to a well-known blogger when you are not already.
Cheers!

22 04 2014
carmant T

carmant T

Worst Moms on MTV’s “16 and Pregnant” | Marshall Lately

24 07 2014
baby program isnt

baby program isnt

Worst Moms on MTV’s “16 and Pregnant” | Marshall Lately

13 09 2014
youtube.com

Usually I don’t learn post on blogs, however I wish
to say that this write-up very pressured me to try and do
so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very great post.

25 09 2014
Delinda Nowitzke

you will love it

26 09 2014
zaborilenta

This really answered my problem, thank you!

11 10 2014
Stacia

What’s up, after reading this awesome post i am too cheerful to share my
knowledge here with mates.

2 11 2014
mens button piece

This is really interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger.
I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more
of your excellent post. Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

17 11 2014
gratis sexanzeigen

Good post. I learn something totally new and challengingg on blogs I stumbleupon on a daily basis.
It will always be interesting tto redad through articles from other writers and use a little something
from other web sites.

4 12 2014
sexanzeigen18.net

Hi there, juxt became alert to your blog through Google, aand found that it’s truly informative.
I’m going to watch out for brussels. I will appreciate if you continue this in future.

Lots of people will be bensfited from your writing. Cheers!

6 12 2014
big tits

You’ve made some good points there. I checked on the internet to find out more about the issue and found most people will go along with
your views on this web site.

Leave a Reply

